Two Women Nominated to Supreme Court of Canada

Tuesday, July 27 2010

Justice Minister Irwin Cotler on Tuesday named Ontario Court of Appeal justices Louise Charron and Rosalie Abella to fill vacancies on the Supreme Court of Canada.

The two replace justices Louise Arbour and Frank Iacobucci, who both retired in June. Both Charron and Abella will go through a new parliamentary screening process beginning on Wednesday.

"At last, the Supreme Court of Canada will be as close to parity where representation of the sexes is concerned as is possible" said Catharine Laidlaw-Sly, President of the National Council of Women of Canada.

Council members see that after more than a century of work striving for equality for women, the Government of Canada has acknowledged and acted on its obligation to make that equality a reality.  NCWC wishes to congratulate the Prime Minister for nominating two outstanding female judges to the two vacant seats on the Supreme Court of Canada.

This is a historic decision, one which honors the obligation that Canada undertook when it signed and ratified the UN Convention on the Elimination of all forms of Discrimination Against Women.

NCWC members congratulate Justice Louise Charron and Justice Rosalie Abella on their appointment, and salutes them for their past years of outstanding work.


Latest news

Browse by topic