Women's Policy Matters

Tuesday, July 27 2010

Women throughout Canada have worked hard over the past ten years and particularly within the last year (via various consultation processes and the Parliamentary Committee on the Status of Women) to strengthen federal accountability for women's equality, to bring about the return of core funding for women's groups, as well as increase the funds to the women's program of Status of Women Canada. This work which is just now coming to fruition is being jeopardized by the games being played on Parliament Hill by all political parties.

Members of the Coalition for Women's Equality would urge women to express their disappointment to all of the parties' leaders for disregarding important policy matters for political gain.

You can do this by contacting the following individuals:

Rt.Hon. Paul Martin, Prime Minister and Liberal Party Leader
Telephone: (613) 992-4211
Fax: 613-941-6900
E-mail : Martin.P@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Tony Valeri, Liberal Party House Leader
Telephone: (613) 992-6535
Fax: (613) 992-7764
E-mail : Valeri.T@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Stephen Harper, Conservative Party Leader
Telephone: (613) 996-6740
Fax: (613) 947-0310
E-mail : Harper.S@parl.gc.ca

Jay Hill, Conservative Party House Leader
Telephone: (613) 947-4524
Fax: (613) 947-4527
E-mail : Hill.J@parl.gc.ca

Gilles Duceppe, Bloc Québécois Leader
Telephone: (613) 992-6779
Fax: (613) 954-2121
E-mail: ducepg@parl.gc.ca

Michel Gauthier, Bloc Québécois House Leader
Telephone: (613) 992-2244
Fax: (613) 992-9954
E-mail : Gauthier.M@parl.gc.ca

Hon. Jack Layton, New Democratic Party Leader
Tel: (613) 947-0867
Fax: (613) 947-0868
E-mail : laytoj@parl.gc.ca

Libby Davies, N.D.P. House Leader
Telephone: (613) 992-6030
Fax: (613) 995-7412
E-mail : Davies.L@parl.gc.ca

The Coalition for Women's Equality (CWE)

The Coalition for Women's Equality is comprised of the following organizations: the Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action (FAFIA), the Canadian Research Institute on the Advancement of Women, (CRIAW), the National Organization of Immigrant and Visible Minority Women of Canada (NOIVMWC), Media Watch, Womenspace, the National Association of Women and the Law (NAWL), the Fédération des femmes du Québec (FFQ), YWCA Canada, the National Action Committee on the Status of Women (NAC), and the Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC).

For more information, contact Charlotte Thibault at 514-649-6957 or Bonnie Diamond at 613-241-7570.

Latest news

Browse by topic